Before You Decide to Move, Think.

When you decide to move for the first time, out on your own, you have so much going on in your mind. You think, this is going to be great. Nothing will go wrong. What can go wrong?

A lot. A lot can go wrong and here’s just one example: incompatible neighbors.

I am moving.

Why, you ask? Because I cannot take my downstairs neighbors. I’ll explain everything in just a minute, but first I’ll go back to the beginning. 

When I first moved into my apartment, our neighbors at that time were a little loud. They would slam the doors and make the whole hose shake. I could deal with this because they mostly we a quiet little family. One day things progressed and to end a long story, they were forced to move.

Then there was about four months of peace and quiet. FOUR MONTHS! No television noise coming from below, no yelling, no children crying, and everything in between. Peace. And. Quiet. For four whole months. I got used to it.

IMG_6227[Photo provided by personal collection]

Fast forward to two-thirty on a November morning. It’s two days after a family moves in downstairs. I am woken from my much needed sleep to the sound of what I can only understand as rap. *Now I have no mind about rap music if that’s the thing you’re into, I just don’t want to be woken up by it* I try to fall asleep thinking maybe they didn’t mean to have the music on at such a volume. Nope. Thirty minutes later >> cut to me putting a hooded sweatshirt on over a t-shirt and basketball shorts and slipping into my moccasins (I looked a hot mess>let me tell you). I then bang on the back door of the neighbor’s because they cannot hear me at the front with the music so loud. 

Man: *hiding behind the door* What do you want?
Me: Hi. I’m from upstairs and your music woke me up.
Man:
Me: Could you turn off the bass or turn the music down or even shut is off. My roommate and I work pretty early and we can’t sleep with such loud music.
Man:
Woman: *walking in from another room* Sorry about that. We didn’t know the music was so loud. [um, how could you not?]
Me: Yeah. I just need sleep. The music startled me awake.
Man: Yeah. We’ll keep it down. Sorry
Me: Thanks.

Now, you’d think that would be that. . . . . NOPE! One other time I’ve had to ask them to turn it down because my roommate couldn’t study for her classes.

Also, our neighbors are smokers! Yay us. Not only do they decide to smoke like a freight train, but they smoke illegal substances as well. Hmmmm … have a mentioned that they have a daughter? Yeah.
Needless to say, smoke has arisen and now it smells as though my roommate and I sit and smoke four packs each per day in our apartment. *side note: we are NOT smokers* Our air fresheners and deodorizers won’t even help.

Also, I’m pretty they have a Running of the Bulls training session at least once a week. Little herds of children running and running and running. All. Day. Long.

So, we are moving. Away from loud, inconsiderate, and [possibly illegal] smokers. Into a house. A place where we don’t have to worry about same-home-neighbors. A larger space for just $75 more? Sign me up.

So think before you move out of your parent’s cozy place and into a place of your own. It’s not just an easy decision. It takes planning and waiting. And planning and more waiting. Good luck!

Got something to say?

Big Ten Network

BTN.com is the official Big Ten sports site of TV's Big Ten Network.

sweetbonitamarie

making awkward look even more awkward since 1980...

For the love of TEA!

Tea us away maybe?

That Art Thou

Where the quill is dipped twice in Dolcetto and the code is poetry

SchizoIncognito

The Incoherent Ramblings of Jason Weiland, A Human Affected By Mental Illness, But Not Defined By It

Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Learn from yesterday, live for today, and hope for tomorrow!

Father at 54

I'm 54. I'm going to be a father for the first time. It's a road less traveled. I'm a little scared.

The Playground

Cynical and Sassy. Sarcastic and Satirical. Stuff and Such.

It All Started In Iceland...

And now I'm hooked on 35mm and wandering....

thechangingpalette

where the arts meet and are forever changing

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

tessacase

a creative journal

Mrs H: Books

Reading for All Ages

Sourcerer

Pop Culture and Geekery with a Dash of Mischief

Doctor Who Cosplay

An independent community for all Doctor Who Cosplayers

Down the rabbit hole...

Ramblings,thoughts and general nonsense

